Anatomy of the Spine

The Spinal Column, the body’s primary support structure, is made up of thirty-three bones, called Vertebrae, which are divided into five regions. Each region provides stability and specific functions for the body. From the upper part of the body downward, the regions are: Cervical, Thoracic, Lumbar, Sacral and Coccygeal.

Each vertebra has four Articular Facets that form joints to connect the vertebrae. They are covered with cartilage to permit movement. Between the vertebrae are the tough, elastic Intervertebral Discs, which allow for flexibility. Muscles and ligaments extend from the outer walls of the Vertebral Canal to protect, stabilize and move the vertebrae.

At the core of the spine, connecting the brain to the rest of the body, is the Spinal Cord, the nerve fiber bundle inside the Vertebral Canal. The Spinal Cord utilizes Nerve Roots along the sides of the spine to transmit signals to other parts of the body.

More On Education

Learn more about what goes into the various treatments and services offered at Advanced Pain Medical Group:

Where Back Pain Begins

Back and Lower Back Pain Treatment and Relief Various conditions can c...

Read More


Kyphosis, an unnatural forward curving of the spine, results from coll...

Read More


Damage to bones or joints can cause vertebrae to slip forward, distort...

Read More

Lumbar Radiculopathy (Sciatica)

Sciatic Nerve Pain Treatment and Relief Nerve root or Sciatic nerve in...

Read More

Metastatic Cancer

Cancer that develops in or near the spinal cord or within the vertebra...

Read More

Degenerative Disc Disease

Degenerative Disc Disease, which can develop during the natural aging ...

Read More